Foster Care Training Resources to Meet Minnesota Education Requirements
The state of Minnesota requires that foster care and foster care adoption families complete a number of classes in order to complete their licensure as foster parents. We’ve compiled a number of these required training opportunities below. The requirements are subject to change, so please confirm with your social worker that you’ve completed all training requirements. In addition, we’ve included resources for optional training you can take to increase your knowledge and preparedness.
There are two steps you must complete to start your process of fostering or adopting kids in Minnesota foster care: a two-hour Foster Care & Adoption Orientation and a multi-day Foster Care & Adoption Education class. For our multi-day class, we have in-person and online options, we also have classes that can be completed in two days or over three days with fewer hours per day. Many families find it helpful to attend the orientation first because it provides an overview of the process and addresses details such as children served, timelines, fees (spoiler: there are practically none), licensing requirements, etc.Register Here: Foster Care & Adoption Orientation Class
Foster Care & Adoption Education Class
Another early step is attending our Foster Care & Adoption Education Classes. These classes will familiarize you with the children in foster care—including those waiting to be adopted—the needs they commonly have, and the foster care and adoption process. You will also have the opportunity to listen to panels of adoptive parents and waiting or adopted teens.Register Here: Foster Care & Adoption Education Class
Normalcy and Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard Training
Children and youth in foster care need to experience the same types of developmentally appropriate and social activities that their friends, families, and classmates who are not in care experience. A new law permits foster parents, designated corporate foster care staff, and residential staff to allow foster children to participate in normal childhood activities by applying the reasonable and prudent parent standard.
Each applicant is required to watch this training and complete the corresponding quiz prior to licensure.First: Watch the YouTube video of the Normalcy and Reasonable Prudent Parent Standard Training Next: Complete this verification form and submit it to your worker
You may find it helpful to also access these resources:
- PowerPoint slides from the 2016 Virtual Presence Communication (VPN), Normalcy and Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard Training (PDF)
- Minnesota’s Normalcy & the Reasonable & Prudent Parent Standard (PDF)
Car Seat Safety: Child and Restraint Systems (C.A.R.S.) Training
This 3-hour course is required by the State of Minnesota for any family licensed for children aged 7 years or younger. The class takes place in person and introduces participants to car seat and vehicle safety for children. The cost of the class is $28.50 per person, and completion verification is good for 5 years. This hands-on learning opportunity takes place at 1605 Eustis Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota.Car Seat Safety: Child and Restraint Systems (C.A.R.S.) Training Registration
Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) Training
Each applicant must complete the trainings and verification form if approved to foster a child aged 5 years or younger.First: Visit the DHS site to complete this training Next: Complete this verification form and submit it to your worker
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders
Applicants must complete this training within the first 12 months of licensure. After the first 12 months of licensure, training on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD) may be part of the 12 hours of the required in-service training per year.
The FASD training should include any of the following keywords: Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders, Alcohol-Related Birth Defects, Alcohol-Related Neurodevelopmental Disorder, Partial Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, or Prenatal Exposure to Alcohol. The training must be approved by your worker in order to count towards annual continuing education for licensure. The keywords come directly from DHS licensing and must be included in the titles/descriptions of the trainings.FASD Basics What is FASD & How Can I Help? What Is It Really Like to Raise a Child With FASD?
Children’s Mental Health
Applicants must complete two hours of Children’s Mental Health (CMH) training prior to licensure. This initial two-hour requirement is fulfilled as part of our two-day Foster Care & Adoption Class (listed above). After the initial requirement, applicants must complete at least one hour of CMH training as part of their 12 required annual training hours.
The CMH training should include any of the following keywords: Attachment, Trauma, Depression, Resiliency, Medication (psychotropic), Autism/Pervasive Developmental Disorder, Anxiety, Bipolar, Behavior Disorders, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Development, or Eating Disorders. The training must be approved by your worker in order to count towards annual continuing education for licensure. The keywords come directly from DHS licensing and must be included in the titles/descriptions of the trainings.
Optional Educational Resources
While these trainings are not required by the State of Minnesota, we believe our families may be interested in learning more with the resources below.